International Registration Review Committee

The role of the UKCRC Registered CTU Network’s International Registration Review Committee (IRRC) is to undertake and have oversight of the Network’s Registration process. In brief, this process assesses the Clinical Trials Unit’s expertise, experience and capability in the design conduct and analysis of clinical trials in the UK. Registration acts as a hallmark of quality, excellence and integrity and provides assurance to the standard of studies undertaken by Registered units. The Committee’s members have extensive expertise in undertaking robust clinical trials at a high-level.

Dr Ian Hudson – Chair

Dr Ian Hudson, Senior Advisor, Integrated Development, Global Health, Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation since 2019.  Dr Ian Hudson practiced as a paediatrician before working in clinical research and development at SmithKline Beecham for 11 years. Subsequently, in 2001, he joined the MHRA as Director of Licensing and was the UK delegate to EMA’s scientific committee, CHMP, latterly its Vice Chair. Also Honorary Senior Lecturer in Clinical Pharmacology, University of London. In 2013 Dr Hudson became CEO of the MHRA until he retired in 2019. He was also a member of the EMA management Board and part of the Heads of Medicines Agencies Management Group between 2013 and 2019 and Chair of the International Coalition of Medicines Regulatory Authorities between 2016 and 2019. Awarded OBE in New Year’s Honours, 2020 for Services to Healthcare, Faculty of Pharmaceutical Medicine President’s medal for contribution to Pharmaceutical Medicine (2020) and Global Fellow in Medicines Development (2020).

Eleanor McFadden – Deputy Chair

Eleanor McFadden is the Managing Director of Frontier Science (Scotland) Ltd. She has more than 40 years of experience in the management of clinical trials, including 23 years spent with Frontier Science and Technology Research Foundation in Boston where she was Director of the Coordinating Center for the Eastern Cooperative Oncology Group (ECOG). More recently, she has established Frontier Science (Scotland) Ltd, a non-profit organisation in the Scottish Highlands involved in the design, conduct and management of clinical trials.  She is author of the text ‘Management of Data in Clinical Trials’ (John Wiley & Sons, 1998 – ISBN:G78-0-470-04608-1) and has served as President of the Society for Clinical Trials.


Dr Ian Hudson (Chair) – Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation

Ms Eleanor McFadden (Deputy Chair) – Frontier Science (Scotland) Ltd

Prof Sean Emery – Senior Vice Dean, Faculty of Medicine and Health, UNSW Sydney, Australia

Dr Joe Pater – Emeritus Professor of Clinical Cancer Research at Queen’s University, Ontario

Prof Janet Darbyshire – Emeritus Professor of Epidemiology at UCL & Honorary Member of the Scientific Staff of the MRC CTU

Prof Gordon Murray – Emeritus Professor of Medical Statistics at the University of Edinburgh

Prof Deborah Ashby – Professor of Medical Statistics and Clinical Trials/ Director of the School of Public Health, Imperial College London

Mr Gregory Pavlov – Independent Consultant (IT)

Dr Ruben Keane – Quality and Regulatory Affairs Director, HRB-Clinical Research Facility, University College Cork

Download this list.


Get in touch

If you have any questions about the site, please feel free to contact us. We are always looking for ways to better serve our members - YOU are important to us!

(0113) 3439132

    Sign up to newsletter