Operations Groups

The Network’s Operations Groups provide opportunities for professional development through peer-to-peer support, networking events, the creation of training and guidance materials and sharing learning and best practice.

 Each Operations Group leads a programme of work with the aims of;

  • Identifying challenges and developing solutions together
  • Highlighting challenges which require a policy response
  • Identifying opportunities to improve efficient trial conduct
  • Sharing best practice and developing practical guidance on good research practice and quality standards for non-commercial trials
  • Contributing to national and internationally led new initiatives within the clinical research community; and
  • Representing the views of Registered CTUs.

The Operations Groups develop an annual programme of individual and cross-Group deliverables to support these aims. These deliverables are agreed with the UKCRC CTU Executive Group. The Operations Groups’ activities are underpinned by a set of General Terms of Reference along with Supplementary Terms of Reference which are specific to each Group.

Groups often set up sub- or working groups to deal with specific short-term projects such as the development of a discrete piece of guidance. You can find out a bit more about the currently active groups via the links below.


Catherine Hewitt (Chair) – York Trials Unit

Natalie Rowland (Deputy Chair) – Birmingham Clinical Trials Unit

Mike Bradburn – Sheffield Clinical Trials Unit

Michele Robertson – Glasgow Clinical Trials Unit

Louise Stanton – Southampton Clinical Trials Unit

Graeme MacLennan – Centre for Healthcare Randomised Trials (CHaRT)

Statistics Operations Group Supplementary Terms of Reference

Information SystemsMembership

Amanda Bravery (Chair) – Imperial Clinical Trials Unit

Tim Chater (Deputy Chair) – Liverpool Clinical Trials Centre

Patrick Julier – Oxford Clinical Trials Research Unit

Martin Pond – Norwich Clinical Trials Unit

Adam Barrett – Leeds Clinical Trials Research Unit

Amanda Loban – Sheffield Clinical Trials Research Unit

John Turgoose – Hull Health Trials Unit

Information Systems Operations Group Supplementary Terms of Reference

Current Information Systems Working Groups

Quality AssuranceMembership

Claire Johnson (Chair) – Centre for Trials Research

Nicole Gower (Deputy Chair) – CR UK and UCL Cancer Trials Centre

Gail Holland – Swansea Clinical Trials Unit

Chris Hayward – Peninsula Clinical Trials Unit

Sara Yeats – Southampton Clinical Trials Unit

Quality Assurance Operations Group Supplementary Terms of Reference

Current Quality Assurance Working Groups

Trial ManagementMembership

Emma Ogburn (Chair) – Oxford Primary Care & Vaccines Collaborative Clinical Trials Unit

Lucy Culliford (Deputy Chair) – Bristol Trials Centre

Claire Lawless – CaCTUS

Natalie Wakefield – UK Trial Managers’ Network Representative

Alexa Gillman – Institute of Cancer Research Clinical Trials & Statistics Unit

Ana Boshoff – Imperial Clinical Trials Unit

Denise Forshaw – Lancashire Clinical Trials Unit

Jaclyn Brown – Warwick Clinical Trials Unit

Trial Management Operations Group Supplementary Terms of Reference


Claire Snowdon (Chair) – Institute of Cancer Research Clinical Trials & Statistics Unit

Carrol Gamble (Deputy Chair) – Liverpool Clinical Trials Centre

Gill Booth – Leeds Clinical Trials Research Unit

Nicky Perry – Brighton & Sussex Clinical Trials Unit

Policy Group Supplementary Terms of Reference


Get in touch

If you have any questions about the site, please feel free to contact us. We are always looking for ways to better serve our members - YOU are important to us!

(0113) 3439132

    Sign up to newsletter