Registered CTUs

The UKCRC Registered CTUs Network proudly announces that 52 clinical trials units are currently registered!

Our diverse network spans the entire UK, including all devolved nations, and features units of various sizes and specializations. Each CTU brings a wealth of expertise in all aspects of trial development and management, fostering strong collaborative relationships.

Our rigorous registration process, led by an esteemed International Review Committee of experts, ensures that each unit meets the highest standards. For detailed information on the registration status of individual units, see below:

Fully Registered Units

Barts and the London Pragmatic CTU
Barts Clinical Trials Unit
Birmingham Clinical Trials Unit
Brighton and Sussex Clinical Trials Unit
Bristol Trials Centre*
CaCTUS (Cancer Clinical Trials Unit Scotland)
Cambridge Clinical Trials Unit (CCTU)
Cambridge Epidemiology & Trials Unit
Cancer Research UK Clinical Trials Unit (CRCTU)
Centre for Healthcare Randomised Trials (CHaRT)
Centre for Trials Research
Comprehensive CTU @ UCL
CR UK & UCL Cancer Trials Centre
Derby Clinical Trials Support Unit (DCTSU)
Diabetes Trials Unit, University of Oxford
Edinburgh Clinical Trials Unit, Edinburgh
Exeter Clinical Trials Unit
Glasgow Clinical Trials Unit
Imperial Clinical Trials Unit
Intensive Care National Audit & Research Centre (ICNARC) CTU
Keele Clinical Trials Unit
King’s Clinical Trials Unit at King’s Health Partners
Leeds Clinical Trials Research Unit
Leicester Clinical Trials Unit
Liverpool Trials Collaborative
London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine
Medical Research Council Clinical Trials Unit at UCL
Newcastle Clinical Trials Unit (NCTU)
NHS Blood and Transplant Clinical Trials Unit
North Wales Organisation for Randomised Trials in Health (NWORTH)
Northern Ireland Clinical Trials Unit
Norwich Clinical Trials Unit
Nottingham Clinical Trials Unit
NPEU Clinical Trials Unit
Oxford Clinical Trial Service Unit & Epidemiological Studies Unit (CTSU)
Oxford Clinical Trials Research Unit (OCTRU)
Oxford Primary Care and Vaccines Collaborative Clinical Trials Unit
Papworth Trials Unit Collaboration
Peninsula Clinical Trials Unit
PRIMENT Clinical Trials Unit at UCL
Royal Marsden Clinical Trials Unit (RM-CTU)
Sheffield Clinical Trials Research Unit
Southampton Clinical Trials Unit
Surrey Clinical Trials Unit
Swansea Trials Unit
Tayside Clinical Trials Unit
The Institute of Cancer Research Clinical Trials & Statistics Unit (ICR- CTSU)
Warwick Clinical Trials Unit
York Trials Unit

Fully Registered Units (Under Review)

There are currently no Fully Registered units under review

Provisionally Registered Units

There are currently no units holding provisional registration

Provisionally Registered Units (Under Review)

Hull Health Trials Unit
Lancashire Clinical Trials Unit

A copy of this map can be downloaded here.

 Sir Kent Woods, Emeritus Professor at the University of Leicester and Chair of the International Review Committee (2017 – 2019) said:

‘The International Registration Review Committee is delighted to see the clear impact of this programme on the quality of conduct of clinical trials research in the UK.’

A full list of all Registered CTUs and their Registration ID Number can be found here.

For more information about the services provided by these clinical trials units, use our below tools;

Industry Search Tool

Please use our Industry Collaborations Resource Finder tool

CTU Finder

Please use our Find A CTU tool


Get in touch

If you have any questions about the site, please feel free to contact us. We are always looking for ways to better serve our members - YOU are important to us!

(0113) 3439132

    Sign up to newsletter